The two major angiosperm groups

Angiosperms were subdivided into two classes: monocotyledons and the dicotyledons.

Examples of monocotyledon angiosperms are grass, sugar cane, corn, rice, wheat, oats, barley, bamboo, rye, lily, garlic, onion, banana, bromeliads and orchids.

Examples of dicotyledonous angiosperms are: beans, peanuts, soybeans, peas, lentils, chickpeas, redwood, ipe, peroba, mahogany, cherry, avocado, acerola, rose hips, strawberry, pear, apple, cotton, coffee, genipap, sunflower and daisy.

Differences between monocotyledonous and dicotyledonous